A Poem for My Mother

A free-verse poem

Kavya Janani. U
1 min readMay 24, 2023
Image Courtesy: Myself

You carried me through the battlefield
toward this world
and laid my heart like a royal lion
in my hands.
Roar, you said, when it was time,
and I did.
I moved through fears, through mistakes.
I carried your flamboyance in my flamboyance.
Mummy, before you bloomed,
were you also hurt? Were you also
drowning in insecurities?
Once, you sang beside me in the bed
and told a story of a beautiful place of gardens.
I know now I am those gardens.
Your flamboyance in my flamboyance has led me here.

©Kavya Janani. U

I wrote this poem using the Mother’s Day prompt given by Joseph Fasano on Twitter. Please check him out. He’s got so many poetry prompts, which are like filling in the blanks, but each poet would end up with a different poem.

If you love my poems, please consider purchasing a copy of my newly published poetry collection From The Land of Longing.

--

--

Kavya Janani. U

I'm just a speck in the universe mommying, reading, writing poems-stories-songs, singing, making playlists, and working 9-5.